Skip Navigation
Press Releases and News

HT Among Climate Leader Finalists

(AUSTIN, Texas) 1.27.14Finalists for the 2014 Second Nature Climate Leadership Awards (CLA) were announced today with Huston-Tillotson University among the institutions selected.  The annual competition is held among United States colleges and universities that are signatories of the American College & University Presidents’ Climate Commitment (ACUPCC).

The awards program is sponsored by Second Nature, a national nonprofit that seeks to create a sustainable society by transforming higher education, and Planet Forward, an organization that engages innovators and publishes compelling ideas for some of society’s biggest challenges.

The elevation of sustainability efforts within the Huston-Tillotson University environment and among faculty, staff, and students has contributed to this recognition and others that we have captured,” said Larry L. Earvin, President and Chief Executive Officer.  “The University takes pride in this distinguished honor and looks forward to the voting process to select the winner.

“The impact of climate change is being felt at all levels of human interactions and among all people across the United States and around the world; and our colleges and universities are clearly at the forefront of identifying solutions, and providing the next generation of responsible and pioneering leaders,” said David Hales, President of Second Nature. “This year we are seeing the most innovative and exciting projects yet, and we are thrilled to be able to recognize these institutions and their work.”

This year, the award program’s fifth, drew the largest and most competitive pool of nominations to date.  Second Nature will partner with Planet Forward, a web-to-television initiative that documents and shares energy, climate, and sustainability advances, in a public voting competition featuring the finalists’ climate leadership and campus innovations during Earth Month (April 2014).

The selection process will feature a public, online voting component. Each of the 20 finalists will be invited to produce a video that promotes its specific sustainability efforts. Voting will be open during Earth Month, April 2014. Approximately 50,000 votes were cast during last year’s voting. The Second Nature Board of Directors will then choose the award winners in late Spring 2014. More information on the awards is at

The following colleges and universities, listed according to their respective Carnegie Classifications, are the 2014 CLA finalists:


Associate/Tribal College

Valencia College (FL)
Gateway Technical College (WI)
Glendale Community College (AZ)
State University of New York Sullivan County Community College (NY)
Montgomery County Community College (PA)

Baccalaureate College
Colby College (ME)
University of Minnesota – Morris (MN)
Huston -Tillotson University (TX)
Furman University (SC)

Master’s Colleges & University
California State University, Chico (CA)
Pacific Lutheran University (WA)
Frostburg State University (MD)
Columbia College Chicago (IL)
Bentley University (MA)

Doctorate Granting University
University of Massachusetts, Amherst (MA)
Western Michigan University (MI)
University of North Texas (TX)
The Ohio State University (OH)

Special Focus Institutions / Other
Massachusetts College of Arts & Design (MA)
University of Massachusetts Medical School (MA)



 Huston-Tillotson University with roots dating to 1875 is Austin’s oldest institution of higher education.  The historically black university offers Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science degrees in 20 areas of study.


Second Nature works to create a healthy, just, and sustainable society beginning with the transformation of higher education. Second Nature is the supporting organization of the American College and University Presidents’ Climate Commitment (ACUPCC), a partnership among approximately 680 colleges and universities in every state and the District of Columbia who have committed to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and prepare students through research and education to solve the challenge of the 21st century. Learn more at and